Napping on the Go

Christmas greenery on one of the many one-car bridges we pass on the drive.

Christmas greenery on one of the many one-car bridges we pass on the drive.

Early on we realized that one kid could nap anywhere (Grady), and the other wouldn’t nap anywhere (Cade).  Hence the Nap Drive.  The concept is simple – put both kids in the car around nap time, find some winding country roads, and drive until they’re out.  Keep driving until you hit Pennsylvania.

It’s not a perfect system, and we are definitely not the first parents to use a car as a sedative.  But it gets the job done, and gives me plenty of time to daydream while I’m cruising through horse country. If I’m really organized, I bring snacks or a travel mug of tea for myself to make it feel more civilized.

My future living room next to the Gunpowder River

My future living room next to the Gunpowder River

This week’s snow made the scenery sparkle more than usual.  The kids slept well enough for me to stop and take some pics of our journey. I was [thisclose] to getting an awesome alpaca picture, but he sprinted away before I could snap the pic.

Although the nap drive confines me to the car a few hours a day, I would heartily recommend it to any new parent of a child who would rather eat nails than take a nap.  Find some country roads with few or no lights or stop signs, stock up on your favorite beverage, and hit the road.  Your kids will come back rested, and you will have had at least an hour of quiet and gorgeous landscapes to keep you company.

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

