Well, hello there!

Oh, blog. How I’ve missed you!  I haven’t posted much over the past year.  Frankly it’s been a combo of not having much time, and that life has been pretty level – not a lot to report.  It’s time we were reunited.

Pretty sure Cade thinks one of these lurks in every backyard pool.

Pretty sure Cade thinks one of these lurks in every backyard pool.

Awhile ago I told of the exhaustive attempt to keep the boys from drowning themselves at a pool party.  A year or two later, and Cade is still not a fan of the water.  He likes to watch other kids swim.  He’ll even lean precariously over the edge to hand other kids pool noodles and such, but he will NOT dip a toe in.  Nope.  No sir. No way. José.

Today I took him to his first nursery school party, and therefore it would be the first time I was going to meet the other mothers. Corey handles drop off and my parents do pick up, so I don’t know any of his school friends or their families. Today was my chance to get a window into his nursery school world.   Not that it was intimidating, but I did want to make a warm and friendly impression.  Important sidebar: the party invite listed swimming as one of the activities.

Frankly, I didn’t even bother throwing swim trunks into my bag.  We were running late, I knew it would be an effort in futility, and I didn’t want to go through the fuss of getting him undressed, into trunks, and then back into street clothes when I knew damn well he wasn’t going to get as much as a molecule of himself wet.  I’m sure you see where this is going.

So today, the day I have no swim trunks or change of clothes for him, is the day he valiantly overcomes his fear of the water.  I didn’t even need to coax him.  One minute he’s dunked a tiny toe in, I turn my head for a second, and find him chest-deep and having the time of his life.  I turn to the other mothers in a chlorine-tinged, bad mother guilt confession he’s scared of water we were running late I’m shocked he even wanted to get in holy crap how can he eat pizza and cake in sopping wet sweatpants?  One generous mom with spare pants later, and he was off to the play area.  In a mere five minutes, he had conquered yet another big fear – the dreaded twisty slide!  I had to look twice to make sure it was my kid zooming down with a giggle.  But there he was, Christmas-morning smile and all.

One of my very best friends had her first baby this week, and I’m so excited for all of the awesome things she’ll get to experience.  I think this is one of the best:  your kid will surprise the heck out of you. The pool and the twisty slide may not seem like big deals, but to Cade, conquering them both on the same day was enormous.  Of course he doesn’t see that it’s a big deal, but I do.  Because today he took a new step towards the person he’ll become as an adult.  Someone who is able to try and try again.  As a mom, that feels pretty awesome.

You know what else is awesome?  Grady and these boots.

photo 1

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Well, hello there!

  1. Anne Butler says:

    Yay, Cade!!! Good for him:-)

    >

Leave a Reply

