Flab and Fortitude

Today I’m feeling kind of proud.  Not boasting, mind you, but quietly proud.  I can’t believe that I constructed two healthy children in a year, with little (read:  zero) recovery between the two.  Frankly, my body has never done anything remotely that impressive.  I’ve never run a marathon or lifted a car off an old woman in an adrenaline-filled spurt of heroism. Not that opportunities for heroic lifting come my way very often.  But create two new humans from just one me?  I know my husband contributed a key ingredient, but still–wow.

And it’s not that I’m amazed that MY lazy innards pulled this off–I’m amazed that anyone can do this.  If our bodies can build whole new people, what else can they do?  Mother Nature has given us a pretty fantastic gift.  If I repeat this to myself while looking in the mirror, I can usually prevent myself from getting weepy about my postpartum flab.  Usually.  Now, where did I put those stretchy pants?

This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flab and Fortitude

  1. One step at a time. Be proud of yourself.

  2. Jill says:

    This is an insight we tend to forget. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a comment